139/365 POTD

Today a coworker shared with me a poem in Spanish that included the noun “remanso” – a new word for me. I looked up remanso and found that it means a liquid that is slowed down or stopped, usually referring to a backwater. More figuratively it means a place of tranquility, a haven or refuge. It’s a special place that makes a person slow down.

The word and its meanings sparked a lengthy discussion at lunch in the office and each of us shared our remanso. Mine is on a quiet lake in Washburn County in northern Wisconsin where my family goes every year in the summer. Today’s photo was taken last August when my youngest son and I kayaked unusually near a pair of loons – on the remanso.DSC_0211

Leave a Reply

